pillar of Islam

Definitions of pillar of Islam

n (Islam) one of the five religious obligations accepted by all Muslims

show 5 types...
hide 5 types...
the first pillar of Islam is an affirmation of faith
salaah, salaat, salah, salat
the second pillar of Islam is prayer; a prescribed liturgy performed five times a day (preferably in a mosque) and oriented toward Mecca
the third pillar of Islam is fasting (primarily during the month of Ramadan); Muslims abstain from food and drink and gambling and all sensuous pleasures from sunrise to sunset during Ramadan
the fourth pillar of Islam is almsgiving as an act of worship
hadj, haj, hajj
the fifth pillar of Islam is a pilgrimage to Mecca during the month of Dhu al-Hijja; at least once in a lifetime a Muslim is expected to make a religious journey to Mecca and the Kaaba
Type of:
a fundamental principle or practice

Sign up, it's free!

Whether you're a student, an educator, or a lifelong learner, Vocabulary.com can put you on the path to systematic vocabulary improvement.