Canadian province

Canadian provinces

Definitions of Canadian province
  1. noun
    Canada is divided into 12 provinces for administrative purposes
    see moresee less
    show 10 examples...
    hide 10 examples...
    one of the three prairie provinces in western Canada; rich in oil and natural gas and minerals
    British Columbia
    a province in western Canada
    one of the three prairie provinces in central Canada
    New Brunswick
    a province in southeastern Canada
    Newfoundland and Labrador
    a Canadian province on the island of Newfoundland and on the mainland along the coast of the Labrador Sea; became Canada's 10th province in 1949
    Nova Scotia
    the Canadian province in the Maritimes consisting of the Nova Scotia peninsula and Cape Breton Island; French settlers who called the area Acadia were exiled to Louisiana by the British in the 1750s and their descendants are know as Cajuns
    a prosperous and industrialized province in central Canada
    Prince Edward Island
    an island in the Gulf of Saint Lawrence; the smallest province of Canada
    the largest province of Canada; a French colony from 1663 to 1759 when it was lost to the British
    one of the three prairie provinces in west central Canada
    type of:
    province, state
    the territory occupied by one of the constituent administrative districts of a nation
DISCLAIMER: These example sentences appear in various news sources and books to reflect the usage of the word ‘Canadian province'. Views expressed in the examples do not represent the opinion of or its editors. Send us feedback
Word Family

Look up Canadian province for the last time

Close your vocabulary gaps with personalized learning that focuses on teaching the words you need to know.

VocabTrainer -'s Vocabulary Trainer